menu icon
Judicial Independence

Judicial Independence

British Columbia's system of government has three branches: judicial, executive, and legislative. The function of the judicial branch is to interpret the law, resolve disputes, and defend the Constitution including the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. Read more at the website link.

View website

produced by
Provincial Court of British Columbia
produced in
last reviewed
January 2015 i Last date reviewed by a qualified expert to ensure content up-to-date. See "Tips" in Clicklaw content criteria (bottom of pageside menu) for details.
resource type
government, branches, judicial, executive, legislative, judiciary, constitutional rights, independence, independent, impartial, security